Groups Today

Today was the 7th session with our Tuesday/Thursday groups. It’s the highlight of my week- so much fun! We did a few different activities today but one of them that I thought would be sort of easy was so difficult for all of them. It’s the “Change 3 (or 4) Things” activity. I moved 4 items from my room and they had to figure out what was missing. I thought they were pretty obvious items but no group was able to identify more than 2 things. I like to think that they didn’t notice things around the room because they have been so focused on what we were doing! However, being aware of your surroundings and taking time to notice things on the wall, on bookshelves or around the room is a really important skill. When we are calm and present in the moment we can see- really see- things around us and when we notice these things we connect and are in the present. Try this at home. It is super easy and you may your child’s response intriguing. It’s also a great time if you have an Elf visiting. The kids are amped up about their elves and may  be more apt to notice things as they look for the Elf each  morning!

Leave a comment